a F.R.I.E.N.D. ly reminder.

I remember when I was first introduced to F.R.I.E.N.D.S, reruns of the show were playing on t.v and my eight year old self was very invested in Ross and Rachel’s relationship. Of course, at the time I didn’t understand more than half the jokes and the whole point of the show was foreign to me.

In fact, the only reason i kept watching was because my mum seemed to love the show …. and she told me not to watch it. What! did you think I would just watch it because my mum loved it.. no. It was the whole forbidden fruit conundrum that kept me invested.

So, I kept watching the show. For a whole year I watched the reruns, in an assorted fashion, whenever I was free… and my mum wasn’t. However, by the time I was ten I had forgotten all about the show and instead moved on to more recent comedic endeavors, like the big bang theory.

Three years passed and while reruns of the all time amazing show still played on t.v,  I never did actively watch them. So, you can imagine my surprise when I found out that kids at my school were all of a sudden crazy about this oldie.

At first I was confused, I had thought that F.R.I.E.N.D.S. was a show of the past. A show belonging to parents and uncles and aunts. Then I caught on, it was cool now. It was all of a sudden a staple guilty pleasure to the schools elite and hence, one to us peasants too.

So I partook. I watched season after season devouring the whole series again and again, convincing myself to love it. This, unfortunately had the opposite reaction. I didn’t love it. in fact I ended up hating it, getting bored, using the reruns as background music so as not to appear uncool. Until finally, I just abandoned the series altogether. now, even when I was bored and nothing was on t.v, I wouldn’t watch the “on throughout the day reruns.” Instead, i would just simply put off the t.v.

A year later, sitting with my family, on vacation, I watched a rerun. It was an episode I hadn’t seen before…or didn’t remember. But, it was good. I laughed and laughed and remembered why the show had made its way in to my heart all those years ago. It wasn’t because some inconsequential queen bee had dictated it. It was simply because the show was and always will be an absolutely marvelous piece of television.

Leave a Reply

